

# **NATIONAL & REGIONAL AWARDS**

#### **ATHLETES - NATIONAL AWARDS**



Year	Award	Recipient
1984	Bank of Scotland Trophy/TSB Challenge Trophy	Russell Devine
1985	This was awarded annually to the athlete whose performance(s) in the	Russell Devine
1987	Scottish Youth's (Under-17s) Championships was considered to be	David Barnetson
	the best. From 1992 and the merger of the S.A.A.A. & S.W.A.A.A. the trophy	
	was open to both men and women.	
1987	The F.J. Clegg Memorial Trophy	Russell Devine
	F. J. Glegg was president of the S.A.A.A. during the Second World War and	
	passed away in 1946. He bequeathed £50 in his will to the S.A.A.A. for a	
1988	Challenge Trophy. It was awarded annually to the athlete whose	Russell Devine
	performance(s) in the Scottish Junior Men's Championships was considered	
	to be the best. From 1992 and the merger of the S.A.A.A. & S.W.A.A.A. the	
	trophy was open to both men and women.	
1988	The Crabbie Cup	Neil Fraser
	Presented by George Crabbie in 1914 and was awarded annually to the	
	athlete whose performance in the Scottish Men's Championships was considered to be the most meritorious. From 1992 and the merger of the	
	S.A.A.A. & S.W.A.A.A. the trophy was open to both men and women.	
2012	SWCC & RRA Vets Cup	Melissa Whyte
2012	Awarded to the First Female at Scottish Masters Cross Country	IVIEIISSA VVIIVLE
	Championship.	
2016	The Eric Liddell Memorial Trophy	George Evans
2017	Awarded for the Best Performance at Scottish Schools Championship.	Stephen MacKenzie
2017	The Bob Stephen Cup	Stephen MacKenzie
2017	Awarded for the Best Triple Jump Performance.	
2018	The Alan Bertram Trophy for Hammer	Matt MacFarlane
2010	Awarded to the Male Hammer Thrower who has shown commitment,	
	performance and potential throughout the year.	
2022	The Yuriy Sedykh Trophy for Hammer	Rachel MacLennan
-	Awarded to the Female Hammer Thrower who has shown commitment,	
	performance and potential throughout the year.	
2020	The George Dallas Memorial Trophy	Megan Keith
	Awarded by The Dallas Trust to the person or persons who in the	
	judgement of the trustees, have achieved distinction in, or made a material	
	contribution to, cross country, road running, track and field or hill running	
	in Scotland in the preceding calendar year, whether they be athletes,	
	administrators, coaches or otherwise involved in the sport.	
2020	U20 Performer of the Year	Megan Keith
2022	U20 Athlete of the Year	Megan Keith

#### **ATHLETES - NATIONAL AWARDS**



Year	Award	Recipient
2019	Scottish Young Sportswoman of The Year	Megan Keith



Year	Award	Recipient
2021	The Inclusive Awards	Mhairi MacLennan
	Recognise individuals or clubs that made a significant effort	
	to make their sport/clubs more accessible and available to	
	everyone.	



Year	Award	Recipient
2015	<b>The Jack Gelder Trophy</b> Best discipline average points score in a combined events competition (run/jump/throw) by any SVHC member throughout the year.	Derek Glasgow
2017	<b>The Steedman Medal</b> Best age-graded performance by a Scottish Master athlete in the Scottish Masters Indoor Heptathlon Championship.	Derek Glasgow



#### Scottish Disability Sport

Year	Award	Recipient
2019	Archie Cameron Bursary	Abbie McNally
	(for Potential High-Performance Athlete)	

#### **ATHLETES - REGIONAL AWARDS**



### INVERNESS AREA

Year	Award	Recipient
2008	Female Athlete – Under 18	Charis Mair
2008	Female Athlete – 18 & Over	Rachael MacKenzie
2009	Female Athlete – 18 & Over	Melissa Whyte
2012	Female Athlete – Under 18	Mary Flockhart
2013	Male Athlete – 18 & Over	Jamie Bowie
2013	Female Athlete – 18 & Over	Rachael MacKenzie
2014	Female Athlete – 12 & Under	Fiona Flockhart
2014	Male Athlete – Under 18	Andrew McFarlane
2016	Female Athlete – 18 & Over	Jenny Bannerman
2017	Female Athlete – 18 & Over	Jenny Bannerman



Year	Award	Recipient
2014	Male Athlete – Under 18 (2 <sup>nd</sup> )	Joe Arnaud
2017	Male Athlete – Under 13	Lucas Cairns
2017	Endeavour Award	Abbie McNally

### **ATHLETES - REGIONAL AWARDS**



Year	Award	Recipient
2006	Highland Disability Sport - Junior Sports Personality of The Year	John Anderson
2011	Highland Disability Sport - Junior Sports Personality of The Year	Finlay MacLennan
2013	Highland Disability Sport - Senior Sports Personality of The Year	Jason Maclean
2015	Highland Disability Sport - Senior Sports Personality of The Year	Paul Davidson
2016	Highland Disability Sport - Junior Sports Personality of The Year	Abbie McNally
2016	Highland Disability Sport - Senior Sports Personality of The Year	Paul Davidson
2017	Highland Disability Sport - Junior Sports Personality of The Year	Abbie McNally

#### **COACHES - NATIONAL AWARDS**



Year	Award	Recipient
2020	Development Coach of the Year	Ross Cairns
2023	Awarded to the coach who has had an impact on the development and performances of the athlete(s) they are working with.	Ross Cairns
2024	<ul> <li>Eric Liddell Recognition Awards</li> <li>Awarded to individuals who have displayed one or more of the values in their role within athletics in Scotland:</li> <li>Passion – enthusiasm, dedication, optimism, self-belief</li> <li>Compassion – humility, selflessness, respect, care, community-minded</li> <li>Integrity – discretion, loyalty, self-sacrifice, principled</li> </ul>	Grant Nairn
2024	Honorary Life Membership Introduced around 1975 by the Scottish Amateur Athletic Association (S.A.A.A) "in recognition of diligent service to the Association over a lengthy period of time." The Scottish Women's Amateur Athletic Association had Honorary Life Vice-Presidents and in 1992, when the S.A.A.A., S.W.A.A.A. and the Scottish Men's and Women's Cross Country Unions merged into the Scottish Athletics Federation, existing Honorary Life Members of each of the bodies was offered Honorary Life Membership of the new federation.	Charlie Forbes

#### **COACHES - REGIONAL AWARDS**



Year	Award	Recipient
2014	Gold Award – Young Athlete Coaching	Gavin Darroch
2014	Gold Award – Young Athlete Coaching	Carly Grant
2014	Silver Award – Young Athlete Coaching	Daniel McFarlane
2014	Silver Award – Young Athlete Coaching	Mary Flockhart
2014	Bronze Award – Young Athlete Coaching	Jed Russell
2014	Bronze Award – Young Athlete Coaching	Daniel Wilby
2014	Bronze Award – Young Athlete Coaching	Joseph Pedrana
2014	Bronze Award – Young Athlete Coaching	George Evans
2014	Bronze Award – Young Athlete Coaching	Andrew Johnstone

## **sport**scotland

the national agency for sport

Year	Award	Recipient
2015	Highlands & Islands Regional Coach of The Year	Charlie Forbes



Year	Award	Recipient
2016	Development Performance Coach of The Year	Duncan Flockhart

#### **COACHES - REGIONAL AWARDS**



Year	Award	Recipient
2012	Coach/Administrator of The Year	Duncan Flockhart
2014	Coach/Administrator of The Year	Dianne Chisholm



Year	Award	Recipient
2017	Coach of The Year	Ross Cairns

#### **CLUB - NATIONAL AWARDS**



Year	Award	Recipient
2017	Scottish Men's Athletics League – Most Improved Club	Inverness Harriers AAC

#### **CLUB - REGIONAL AWARDS**



Year	Award	Recipient
2014	Club of The Year	Inverness Harriers AAC